The primary author of this essay is Thomas De Pree, but none of this would have been possible without the collaborators who have contributed to the course and this essay from UNM METALS SRP, B-EiJ Teaching Collective, and Disaster STS Network, especially Johnnye Lewis, Debra MacKenzie, Kim Fortun, Tim Schütz, Dana Powell, Rebecca Witter, Jerry Jacka, Angela Wandinger-Ness, Sherry Rogers, Taylor Dotson, in addition to NMT students who offered invaluable advice, and UNM and NMT administrators who aided in this cross-institutional teaching collaboration. Opinions expressed, any errors, and concerns thereof are the responsibility of the primary author ( Research reported in this essay was supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences of the National Institutes of Health under Award Number P42ES025589; and Institutional Research and Academic Career Development Award NIGMS K12 GM088021. The content is solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health or the UNM METALS SRP Center. 


Creative Commons Licence



Contributed date

January 12, 2021 - 4:16am


Critical Commentary


De Pree, Thomas. 2021. IX.  Acknowledgements. In Afterlife of Atomic America. Disaster STS Research Network.


New Mexico
United States

Cite as

Thomas De Pree, "Acknowledgements", contributed by Thomas De Pree, Disaster STS Network, Platform for Experimental Collaborative Ethnography, last modified 22 January 2021, accessed 15 August 2022.