Next Generation Radiation Governance

World Map IMAGO for PECE

Symposium Description

Japan’s ongoing experiences with radiation from Hiroshima and Nagasaki to Fukushima provide powerful examples of the importance of radiation governance. The tenth anniversary of the Fukushima nuclear reactor failure calls for reflection on past and future radiation governance, recognized as a transnational, transdisciplinary, and transgenerational challenge and responsibility to effectively share knowledge and expertise in policy formation and practice.

Envisioning Next Generation Radiation Governance is an 5 session, open, virtual symposium that will be held in March, 2021. Our goal is to bring together people across diverse areas of expertise to foreground diverse approaches to radiation governance stemming from diverse histories. Each panel will be a moderated discussion among differently-situated experts, with time for questions from the audience.

Five sessions during March 2021

4pm Monday 1 March 2021 PST    =  9:00 Tuesday 2 March 2021 JST

5pm Monday 8 March 2021 PST    = 10:00 Tuesday 9 March 2021 JST

6pm Monday 15 March 2021 PDT = 10:00 Tuesday 16 March 2021 JST

6pm Monday 22 March 2021 PDT = 10:00 Tuesday 23 March 2021 JST

6pm Monday 29 March 2021 PDT = 10:00 Tuesday 30 March 2021 JST

License

All rights reserved.

Session Themes

Radiation Archives

Radiation Regulation               

Radiation Education

Teaching and Governing Radiated

Organizers

Dr. Thomas De Pree, University of New Mexico, USA,  Professor Kim Fortun, University of California, Irvine, USA, Ina Kim, University of California, Irvine, USA, Tim Schütz, University of California, Irvine, USA,  Professor Hirotaka Sugawara, Director General Emeritus, KEK, Tsukuba, Japan,  Dr. Nadine Tanio, University of California, Irvine, USA and Professor Sharon Traweek, University of California, Los Angeles, USA.

Project Contact

Group Audience